The Secret to Great Cookies

I love cookies. Any kind. Any quality level. It doesn’t matter. Love them. I also like to bake them. But for years my cookies were only…okay. Sometimes pretty good. Never wow worthy.

Then I read this blog post from The Natos (if you are a Christian, a woman, a mom, a crafter, or just a person who likes funny, real writing, you should read her blog). In the post, she mentions that you should leave your cookies on the cookie sheet for ten minutes after baking.

Ding ding ding!

The next time I made cookies, I tried it. And you know what? It totally worked. It made a huge difference. Andy said they were the best cookies I’d ever made.

The trick is to pull the cookies out when they are just barely done, or even slightly underdone. They will finish cooking on the pan, getting a slightly crisp outside, but a soft, warm inside. My cookies used to be a little bit more bread like, puffier. Not anymore. It is perfection in cookie form.

This is my new favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s based on Jessica’s mom’s recipe, but I tweaked it a bit.

1 1/3 cup butter flavored shortening
(I do half butter and half shortening, highly recommend this change)
1/4 cup milk
(I used almond milk and it worked fine)
2 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp of salt
4 cups flour
Chocolate chips
(I like to do half m&ms and half chocolate chips.
I like the crunch from the candy coating!)

Bake 350 – 375 (depending on your oven) for 10 minutes.
Remove from the oven. Let sit on pan for at least 10 minutes.
Transfer to a cooling rack until ready to enjoy!

10 thoughts on “The Secret to Great Cookies

    • BecccaDing says:

      Yeah, I’ve since learned that lots of people do it – I just didn’t know! And since it has revolutionized my life (at least in the cookie sense), it twas my duty to share.

  1. beattisl says:

    I cannot tell you how happy this made me to 1) see you reference the Natos. They are awesome and I feel like I am bff with Jamie lol 2) have this cookie recipe. I ate the extra cookies you gave me for breakfat yesterday 🙂

  2. Jami NATO says:

    Now, we can’t be interweb besties until you stop using shortening and start using butter. Pray about it.

Leave a Reply

