A Dark, But Light Foyer

A quick post for today. My foyer is one step closer to completion!

When I got to the house after work last night I walked in and immediately noticed something was different.

Instead of this old hag hanging from the entry way, my hubby used his lunch hour to install…

 

This shiny, pretty ceiling light from West Elm. We ordered it several weeks ago and this was the first chance Andy found to install it. From what he tells me, installing this light fixture was relatively easy. Although we all know he is Handy Andy, he does not have any prior experience installing light fixtures, so it must not have been too bad.

 

Your view from the front door when you enter the house. We are going to paint those doors white SOON!

 

The fixture was bigger than I expected, and gives off plenty of light. It has just one bulb but brightens the room much better than the old one.

 

This foyer is pretty close to complete! Still to do:

  1. Touch up the ceiling paint.
  2. Buy a metal coat tree (I have a wooden one that I love, but I think something metallic will be better for the space).  Or maybe I should paint the one I have? What do you think?
  3. Buy a new rug. We are currently using the nasty one the ones left us. Perfect for renovation time, but not so great for showing off this new space.

It feels good to have two spaces complete/almost complete! Next week is going to be a HUGE week for the kitchen, so this weekend we are finishing up painting the last of the trim in the house, painting doors, and of course, celebrating our wonderful moms and grandmas!

 

8 thoughts on “A Dark, But Light Foyer

  1. Meg says:

    Love, love, love it – makes the foyer look so sophisticated!! If you like the shape of your wood coat rack and don’t mind not having it look wooden anymore, I vote for painting. I love Rustoleum’s spray paint metallic finishes – you can even buy spray paint that will look like hammered metal when you’re done. It’s a really inexpensive fix that will look good as long as you prepare the coat rack correctly (sand it, wipe it down, spray evenly, etc.).

    • BecccaDing says:

      I do really like the shape, and it is a high quality, solid wood piece. My mom bought it to hold my purses in high school! I like the idea of spray painting it.

  2. MarcieDail says:

    I vote you paint your existing coat rack a sassy color – something unexpected that makes you smile. If you decide to change it later, you’re only out a couple bucks for spray paint.

      • JennaKotarski says:

        perhaps turquoise with a semi-transparent metallic top coat? maybe too much? i like metallic or a stunning color. can’t wait to see what you decide on!

Leave a Reply

