White Subway Tile Backsplash – Done!

Well friends, we are one HUGE step closer to our kitchen being finished!

It took some help from family and one very devoted friend but our kitchen backsplash is complete!

On Sunday after we went to visit Stef and Dan’s new baby, Brian and Andy got to work on installing our white subway tile backsplash!

My dad was able to borrow this sweet tile saw from a friend. The boys set it up in our kitchen (eek!) to save trips up and down the stairs.

The tile is ceramic and was 21 cents a tile at Lowes.

Most of the tile was laid very easily. The outlet corners were a little trickier, but they did it just fine.

We let the adhesive dry for 24 hours. Last night we teamed up to grout! I didn’t take any pictures of the process because, well, I was grouting!

We chose a medium gray grout to add contrast. I was nervous about how it would look but i really like it!

We went back and forth about how high to go with the tile around the hood. Lots of people go all the way to the ceiling. We really like that look but decided to just stop at the hood so that the blue would be visible.

Once I get my counters de-chaosed I will post more pictures of the nearly complete kitchen. All that’s left is window trim and the trim on the cabinets, as well as some small paint touch up. I love my kitchen and am just amazed that we did nearly all of it.

3 thoughts on “White Subway Tile Backsplash – Done!

  1. MarcieDail says:

    Looks great! I love white subway tile. I really need to share pictures of our house. We have many of the same design loves (with you having a cool, chic citiness to yours and me having a Southern suburb spin to mine). Or maybe one day we can actually visit each other….. 🙂

      • MarcieDail says:

        Speaking of weddings, I hope you and Andy make time for some quality time tomorrow. 😉
        Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

