The Right Desk Lamp

If you’ve ever tried to go to lunch with me, you know I am not a great maker of decisions.

Pulling the ‘ol trigger is stressful for me. I don’t know why. I’ve been like that since I was a kid. With three siblings I usually could wiggle out of having to pick what movie we were going to watch or what dessert we would get on dessert night [we got dessert once a week, on Saturdays. It was a big deal.] But then sometimes my dad would make me choose. When that happened, I would physically lock up, paralyzed by the pressure. Fortunately one or both of my sisters generally would whisper to me what they wanted, and I would pick that.

Now when I’m out shopping I frequently text pictures of a throw pillow or new type of BBQ sauce to Andy, hoping he will give me a firm yes or no on whether to buy.

That’s why it’s so weird that I impulsively decided to buy a $70 desk lamp [!], from a store that doesn’t have a really close location for returns.

You see, a few weeks ago Andy was traveling and I was dinking around on Pinterest. I saw a lamp a friend had posted from CB2. I went to their web site and saw this:

LUV. It looked so cool. Vintage and rustic but industrial. I HAD TO HAVE IT. RIGHT NOW.

I texted Andy the link and he sensed my urgency and gave me the go ahead. Now, just so you don’t think I’m totally crazy, I did have a gift card that covered the entire purchase price. And there is a location where I could make a return, it’s just in the city, and I live in the ‘burbs.

I clicked order. I was excited and truthfully amazed at my decision-making abilities. Four days later it arrived!

And….I don’t know. I’m just not excited about it? I like it, especially the vintage bulb. But it doesn’t feel worth $70, even on a gift card. I think maybe I need a more modern looking lamp in this office. Something thinner and taller.

Like this?

or this?

There is no overhead light so we’ll keep a floor lamp for major illumination needs but I want a desk lamp for more targeted, softer light.

What do you think?

Please help me decide 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Right Desk Lamp

  1. Stefanie says:

    I do love the industrial look but you’re right, I feel like it just looks too small- maybe it would go well on an end table?!

    As far as another lamp, I kind of think the first one has a similiar feel since it’s metal and would go well on the desk. I was actually thinking of getting one similiar to that in our future office!

    Jess would be creative and DIY one. I wouldn’t even know the first step to doing that lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

