It’s the Little Things: Bright Bedroom Curtains

I am an easy to please person. I think my husband would agree. Well, he might say simple-minded, but if there’s one thing I learned from all those PR classes, it’s all about the spin. Just kidding. Or am I? Anyways, the point is, it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

In my quest to pretty-ify our master bedroom, I have been really pleased with the small changes we’ve made. First, we added some nice pillows and I was like yay! Eager to continue the adrenaline rush [ok I’m definitely exaggerating now], I started the hunt for curtains.

And yowza, it was quite the hunt.

I looked everywhere. Seriously, West Elm, HomeGoods, Bed Bath Beyond, Target, Walmart, Overstock, Pottery Barn, Pier 1…the list goes on. One disappointment after another.

And then, I thought about trying the major department stores online. [the marketer in me thinks it’s a very bad sign for the major retailers that they were the LAST place I thought to look….] And what do you know, the good ol JCP smiled upon me in the form of yellow patterned curtains.

yellow_curtains_3

I found two curtain styles I liked, that were reasonably priced from Penny’s [c’mon, just the name makes you NOT want to shop there]. I ordered four panels of each and kept one set. Even though Andy is basically dying with some strand of the flu/cold, he found the strength to hang these up this weekend. We bought basic curtain rods from Bed Bath and Beyond and decided to skip the end knob things.

yellow_curtains_1

I will say, they weren’t my dream curtains. I wanted something with a bit more color in them. But it really was the best I could find. And they were not crazy expensive, so we can change them or move them somewhere else if I find something better eventually. Now we are trying to figure out a piece to go over our bed, ideally that would bring in some different colors. We are pushing it on the yellow….that throw might have to be relocated…

yellow_curtains_2

Having the curtains up definitely makes it easier to picture what it will look like with some bigger changes. The tentative plan is we’d like to get rid of one of our dressers and build a new, much lower bed frame that has built-in shelves so we can ditch the nightstand. We’ll see what ends up happening. For now we are still looking for artwork to put over the bed. And if I thought curtains were a challenge, this search has been ten times harder!

8 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things: Bright Bedroom Curtains

  1. Decorum DIYer says:

    Happy that you were able to find what you needed. I used to be a huge fan of J.C. Penney’s in terms of window treatments, but they have fallen out of favor with me as to lack of quality for really not much of a discount compared to other retailers. That said, you curtains look great and make me want to reconsider my now harsh view of JCP.

    I’m glad you mentioned that you were making a change as to your dressers. I was going to suggest hanging your curtains wider on the window to accommodate the dresser, but you are waaaaay ahead of me. Everything is coming along nicely! Good luck to you.

  2. Linnea Farnsworth says:

    Keep the throw! I remember hearing somewhere that a color should be repeated three times in a room to make it seem intentional -that may be crap advice, as I can’t remember where it came from, but I think this fits that rule nicely. 🙂

    Love the curtains. I’m searching for some for our front room now, maybe I’ll give Pennys a look.

  3. DeDivahDeals says:

    Nice post, would you consider reposting it to FB page “Bloggers4JCPenney” I really want to support them and think bloggers would have a positive influence. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

